Everything You Need To Know About SBS’ Weekly Music Show, Inkigayo: Airing Time, Score System, Special Stage, and More


Weekly Music Show, Inkigayo

Inkigayo is one of the most popular Korean music shows in South Korea. It airs every Sunday on SBS. The music show is broadcast weekly, with different artists performing on the show to promote their music. Inkigayo is currently hosted by Minhyuk of Monsta X, Jaehyun of NCT, and Lee Na-eun of April. In this article, Channel-Korea will provide you with a rundown of everything you need to know about Inkigayo. So, stay tuned and keep scrolling down!

About Inkigayo


Inkigayo (인기가요), or also known as The Music Trend (previously named Popular Song), is a South Korean music program broadcast by SBS. Inkigayo debuted as SBS Popular Song in 1991 as a chart show but was canceled in the autumn of 1993 because it was replaced by TV Gayo 20 (TV 가요20). It was later revived in 1998 with its original title and format. In 2003, the chart format was removed and was replaced by Take 7, where seven of the most popular artists from the week are featured and the most popular artist receives the award for Mutizen Song.

They changed the name into The Music Trend in 2007. The program changed from a recorded broadcast to a live broadcast in an effort to boost ratings. On July 10th, 2012, SBS announced revamping the show removing the Take 7 system and Mutizen Song award because they said the most important thing is the genre K-Pop being recognized worldwide.

Inkigayo features some of the latest and most popular artists who perform on stage. It is broadcast from the SBS Open Hall in Deungchon-dong, Gangseo-gu, Seoul. It airs live every Sunday for a duration of 70 minutes per episode. Up until December 15th, 2019, SBS’ Inkigayo has aired 1.028 episodes.

Inkigayo’s Chart and Point System


After abolishing Take 7 in July 2012, a new chart system was implemented on March 17th, 2013. Take 7 is the representative segment of Inkigayo. The revived chart features fifty songs for viewers to vote for (like the previous Take 7 chart) through SBS’ mobile app Soty, combined with Digital Song Chart and Offline Album Chart in collaboration with the Music Industry Association of Korea’s Gaon Chart to create the Inkigayo Chart.

The chart is calculated by combining Digital sales points (55%) from the Gaon Digital Chart, Album sales points (10%) from the Gaon Album Chart, SNS Points (30%) from YouTube views, and Advance viewers vote points (5%) from voting on MelOn. The top three artists of the chart become First Place Nominees, who go through live SMS and voting from Melon.

Period covered Chart system
March 17th, 2013 Digital single sales (50%), SNS (30%), advance viewer votes (20%), live votes (20%) (for 1st place candidates only)
March 24th, 2013 – February 1st, 2015 Digital single sales (60%), SNS (35%), advance viewer votes (5%), live votes (10%) (for 1st place candidates only)
February 8th, 2015 – January 29th, 2017 Digital single sales (55%), SNS (35%), album sales (5%), advance viewer votes (5%), live votes (10%) (for 1st place candidates only)
February 5th, 2017 – May 28th, 2017 Digital single sales (55%), SNS (35%), album sales (5%), advance viewer votes (5%) (no live votes)
June 4th, 2017 – January 27th, 2019 Digital single sales (55%), SNS (35%), album sales (5%), advance viewer votes (5%), On-Air (10%)
February 3rd, 2019 – present Digital single sales (55%), SNS (30%), album sales (10%), advance viewer votes (5%), On-Air (10%)

List of Favorite MCs Through Time

Date Hosts
February 25th – October 7th, 2007 Kim Hee-chul, Jang Keun-suk
November 11th, 2007 – May 4th, 2008 Kim Hee-chul, Song Ji-hyo
May 11th – November 30th, 2008 Eun Ji-won, Huh E-jae
December 18th, 2008 – July 19th, 2009 Eun Ji-won, Yu Seul-ah, Lee Hong-gi
July 26th, 2009 – January 24th, 2010 Ha Yeon-joo, Taecyeon, Wooyoung
February 7th – July 11th, 2010 Taecyeon, Wooyoung, Sulli
July 18th, 2010 – March 13th, 2011 Jung Yong-hwa, Sulli, Jo Kwon
March 20th – November 13th, 2011 Jo Kwon, Sulli, Lee Gi-kwang, IU
November 20th, 2011 – May 27th, 2012 Goo Ha-ra, IU, Nicole
June 3rd – August 19th, 2012 Goo Ha-ra, Lee Jong-suk, Nicole
August 26th – December 2nd, 2012 IU, Lee Jong-suk
December 16th, 2012 – July 28th, 2013 IU, Hwang Kwang-hee, Lee Hyun-woo
August 4th, 2013 – January 26th, 2014 Hwang Kwang-hee, Lee Hyun-woo, Bang Min-ah
February 2nd – November 9th, 2014 Hwang Kwang-hee, Lee Yu-bi, Suho, Byun Baek-hyun
November 16th – December 14th, 2014 Hwang Kwang-hee, Kim Yoo-jung, Suho, Byun Baek-hyun
December 28th, 2014 – April 5th, 2015 Hwang Kwang-hee, Kim Yoo-jung, Hong Jong-hyun
April 12th, 2015 – August 30th, 2015 Kim Yoo-jung, Hong Jong-hyun, Jackson Wang
September 5th, 2015 Kim Yoo-jung, Jackson Wang
September 13th, 2015 – April 3rd, 2016 Kim Yoo-jung, Jackson Wang, Yook Sung-jae
April 10th, 2016 – May 29th, 2016 Jackson Wang, Yook Sung-jae
July 3rd, 2016 – January 22nd, 2017 Gong Seung-yeon, Jeongyeon, Kim Min-seok
February 5th, 2017 – February 4th, 2018 Park Jin-young, Jisoo, Kim Do-young
February 18th, 2018 – October 28th, 2018 Mingyu, Jung Chae-yeon, Song Kang
November 11th, 2018 – February 3rd, 2019 Mingyu, Jung Chae-yeon
February 17th, 2019 – October 6th, 2019 Mingyu, Shin Eun-soo
October 20th, 2019 – present Minhyuk, Jaehyun, Lee Na-eun

The Famous Inkigayo Sandwich


The Inkigayo sandwich is a simple sandwich that originated from the cafeteria of broadcaster SBS. Many idols talk about the Inkigayo sandwich, as for SEVENTEEN’s Woozi, he said the recipe seems simple, but it tastes amazing. Other singers, including Jung Se-woon, Chungha and Gugudan have expressed their fondness for the sandwich. Some of them even filmed eating shows featuring the sandwich.

The sandwich consists of layers of egg and potato salad, cabbage salad and a sweet center of strawberry. The strawberry jam may seem a bit random but it brings a light sweetness to the creamy potato and sharp flavor of raw cabbage.

Let’s take a look at the recipe here: