Here Are Detailed Explanations About the NCT Subunits: NCT 127, NCT U, NCT Dream, WayV, and the Future Subunit!

NCT Members’ Current Activities

Super M

As a boy group that has many subunits and also has many members, it is natural that they also have several different activities outside their respective groups. Like the four members of NCT who debuted as SuperM on October 4th, 2019, with the title song “Jopping.” The four members are Taeyong (NCT 127), Mark (NCT 127), and Ten and Lucas (WayV). They joined with their sunbaenim‘s (Taemin from Shinee, Baekhyun and Kai from EXO). As a group that recently debuted, they were busy with the promotional schedule.

NCT Future Plans

Recently, a leaked document from SM Entertainment has made waves among NCTzens around the world to present plans in 2019–2020 for the NCT subunits. The document highlighted the expected start of NCT Indonesia in the future, but it also addressed membership changes in other NCT subunits.

NCT Indonesia is expected to introduce four new members who have not yet been introduced.

  • NCT 127 – Taeil, Johnny, Taeyong, Yuta, Doyoung, Jaehyun, Mark, Jungwoo, Haechan
  • NCT Dream – Jisung, Hyung-tae, Jin-young, Young-won
  • WayV – Lucas, Ten, Winwin, Xiaojun, Hendery, Kun, Yangyang, Renjun, Chenle
  • NCT Indonesia (Temporary Name) – Lucas, Matthew, Ten, Kim, Nanda, Jason
  • NCT X – Jeno, Jaemin, Jisung, Taesung

Meanwhile, the range of NCT Dream will change drastically, because Jeno, Jaemin, Renjun, and Haechan (all of the 2000 line) will soon be “graduates”. Although this leaves two members, the range planned for the next generation of NCT Dream does not include Chenle. And this would make Jisung the only member of the original line-up, with the maknae now being the oldest in the group. In addition to Jisung, the document states that he will be joined by new members Hyung-tae, Jin-young, and Young-won, who have not yet been introduced.

SM Entertainment saw the popularity of the NCT Dream members, who were not kidding, so it seems SM will be planning a new subunit called NCT X, that would include current members of NCT Dream (Jeno, Jaemin, and Jisung) and a new member, Tae-sung. Renjun and Chenle will make their long-awaited addition to WayV as the China-based NCT unit.

In summary, the changes planned for 2019–2020 are the beginnings of two new subunits, NCT Indonesia and NCT X, with the addition of three new members to the NCT Dream and the inclusion of Chenle and Renjun in WayV.

So, what do you think about the upcoming changes in NCT?

NCT New Members

As it has been mentioned before, the concept of NCT is a group that has unlimited numbers of members which means that any new member can be added anytime.

Started as a pre-debut training team SM Rookies in 2013, the members were being introduced one by one with a total of 16 other members until early January 2016. Though one member did not join the debut line in 2016 leaving the team with 15 members. Still, SM has other trainees under their company to debut in NCT.

Then, in 2018 SM added and introduced another 3 new members to debut and join with NCT which made the team consist of 18 members. A year after that, another 3 members were added and introduced, but they did not debut under the name of NCT due to some reasons. Instead, SM made another new unit under the name of WayV which made its debut and promotions in China. This has made the total of NCT members 21 members as of January 2019.

The latest news of the NCT members was on September 20th, 2020, where SM added and introduced another 2 members, Shotaro and Sungchan to join another big project called NCT 2020. The joining of Shotaro and Sungchan in NCT made the group now consist of 23 members as of October 2020.

Here are the short profiles of the new NCT members that were added recently.

Full Profile of Shotaro
  • Birth Name: Osaki Shotaro (大崎将太郎)
  • Stage Name: Shotaro (쇼타로)
  • Position: Dancer, Rapper, Vocalist
  • Place of Birth: Kanagawa Prefecture, Japan
  • Birthday: November 25th, 2000
  • Zodiac Sign: Sagitarius
  • Height: 178 cm (5’10″)
  • Weight: –
  • Blood Type: A
  • Education: He was a former student at EXPG Studio in Japan
  • Specialty: Dance
  • Shoe size: –
  • Subunit: NCT U
  • Shotaro’s ideal type: –

Full Profile of Sungchan
  • Birth Name: Jung Sunchan (정성찬)
  • Stage Name: Sungchan (성찬)
  • Position: Rapper
  • Place of Birth: Seoul, South Korea
  • Birthday: September 13th, 2001
  • Zodiac Sign: Virgo
  • Height: 185 cm (6’1″)
  • Weight: –
  • Blood Type: A
  • Education: –
  • Specialty: Rap
  • Shoe size: –
  • Subunit: NCT U
  • Sungchan’s ideal type: Someone who matches well with him

Is WayV a Subunit of NCT?

WayV (Chinese: 威神V; pinyin: WēiShén V) is a Chinese boy group which serves as the fourth subunit and China-based unit of the South Korean boy group NCT managed by SM Entertainment’s sub-label, Label V. Debuted on January 17th, 2019, with their digital extended play The Vision, the group is composed of seven members: Kun, Ten, Winwin, Lucas, Xiaojun, Hendery, Yangyang.

Even though WayV debut with a different name, not like other NCT units such as NCT u, NCT 127, and NCT Dream. Still, WayV is part of NCT because they are under SM Entertainment’s sub-label, Label V which is also managed by SM Entertainment. Actually, WayV was originally supposed to debut under the name of NCT China where they will be focusing in doing their promotions in the China market. But, due to some reasons, they cannot debut under that name, so they instead changed it to WayV.

Besides, most of the WayV members were originally part of SM Rookies and made their debut with NCT members which automatically made the rest of the members also part of NCT. So, if you are asking if WayV is a subunit of NCT, then the answer is YES, WayV is the fourth subunit of NCT that is based in China.

Latest News


STATION X is the name ST plus X, which means collaboration, and is expected to feature various musical collaborations of various genres, which are one of the characteristics of STATION.

In addition, this project will change from season-based methods to regularly releasing collaborations or solo projects, by releasing some music with the same theme but offering different pleasures. The first project for STATION X is ‘STATION X 4 LOVEs for Winter (2019 SMTOWN Winter)’. STATION X will release four songs with a winter theme. With one song from NCT U – “Going Home,” and three songs each titled “This Is Your Day,” “Forever,” and “White Winter,” for which the singer has not yet been announced.

SM released [STATION X] ⛄ 2019 SMTOWN Winter Trailer ⛄ L 4 LOVEs for Winter by featuring Jaehyun from NCT. This trailer video successfully made the name Jaehyun become trending topic number 1 on Twitter. The NCTzens gave their excitement and can’t wait for the final release of STATION X.

Let’s watch the trailer below!

So, yeah that was all the news and information about the detailed explanations of the NCT subunits such as NCT 127, NCT U, NCT Dream, WayV, and the future subunit. How was it? Did it satisfy your curiosity? And if you are still looking for more news and information about other artists and celebrities, do not worry! Here, on Channel-Korea we have a massive collection of various articles related to K-Pop, K-drama, and everything related to the South Korean entertainment industry. Stay tuned on our website for more news and updates.