June 2017: NCT 127 Comeback with “Cherry Bomb”

NCT 127 Comeback with Cherry Bomb Album

The growing K-Pop industry produces many new artists. Each one of them is younger although as talented as the others. A silent competition for the spotlight pushed rookie artists to promote harder than the veteran stars. They often release their comebacks more often and in shorter time spans than their seniors. One of those rookie artists is NCT 127, a sub-group of NCT. SM Entertainment confirmed that the group would be making their comeback in June 14, 2017, with their third mini album, Cherry Bomb.

General Information About NCT 127

NCT 127 is a 9-member sub-unit group consisting of Taeil, Johnny, Doyoung, Taeyong, Yuta, Jaehyun, WinWin, Mark and Haechan (formerly known as Donghyuck). It is the second sub-unit group of NCT (Neo Culture Technology). Following the debut of the first sub-unit group, NCT U in April 2017, NCT 127 debuted with Fire Truck in July 2017.

The group is based in Seoul, which is how they got the name NCT 127. The number 127 is the longitude coordinates of Seoul. However, not everyone in NCT 127 (or NCT in general) came from Seoul or South Korea. Yuta and WinWin are Japanese and Chinese respectively. The two of them were first introduced as SM Rookies along with the rest of NCT 127 members, except Doyoung.

Their Fire Truck debut was a strong introduction for the group. The song offered a unique EDM sound mixed with Mark and Taeyong’s powerful rap. Their unusual sound supported by pure talents brought the group to win “Best Newcomer” in the Mnet Asian Music Awards, Golden Disk Awards and Seoul Music Awards.

NCT 127 New Album’s with Cherry Bomb

NCT 127 received abundant success during their first album ‘NCT #127 Limitless’ even in South America. It really was no surprise when their third album ‘Cherry Bomb’ became that long-awaited Christmas gift for their fans all over the globe.

The album consists of 7 tracks, of which six of them were written/co-written by their own rappers, Mark and Taeyong. Each of their songs still possess the unique synth hip-hop sound that seems to be the trademark style of NCT 127. Unlike many K-Pop songs, NCT 127 has always had a different sound. Their music was called “experimental” by the people who have known SM Entertainment’s music production style. With this album, NCT 127 hoped to be known as a group with flavorful sound that makes you dance around to delightful beats.