List of K-Pop Groups Formed After Appearing On a Survival Show: JBJ, I.B.I, MXM, and More

Yongguk and Sihyun

Yongguk and Sihyun

Yongguk and Sihyun are other former participants of Produce 101 season 2 who got to make their debut as a duo. Due to the tremendous support and attention from the fans, Choon Entertainment decided to form a unit project group of Kim Yong-guk and Kim Si-hyun. They officially debuted by releasing their first mini-album titled the.the.the, which was produced by the composers and producers of Produce 101 season 2’s single “Knock.”



1THE9 (pronounced as Wonder Nine) is a boy group that was formed through a survival show called Under Nineteen. The group consists of nine members: Yoo Yong-ha, Kim Tae-woo, Lee Seung-hwan, Shin Ye-chan, Kim Jun-seo, Jeon Do-yum, Jung Jin-sung, Jung Taek-hyeon, and Park Sung-won. During the show, the final members were ranked and marked to debut by votes from the viewers.

They made their official debut on April 12th, 2019. Prior to their debut, a series of individual teasers were released per member with the debut timeline following it. The name of the album was revealed to be XIX with the title track “Spotlight.” A pre-debut track titled “Domino” was released on April 7th, leading up to their official debut on April 13th. 1THE9 held their debut stage on April 17th through a V Live special for an hour and thirty minutes.



BOYS24 is a pre-debut boy group formed by CJ E&M through a survival show that was held in 2017 with the same name. There were twenty-four members in the group, which was divided into four units: Unit Yellow, Unit White, Unit Green and Unit Sky with each unit containing six members. The group performed regular shows in their own concert hall, with the debut of the final eight members IN2IT on October 26th, 2017. The members who are included in IN2IT are Yoo Young-doo, Jeong Yeon-tae, Hwang In-ho, Han Hyun-uk, Isaac Voo, Lee In-pyo, Kim Jin-sub, and Kim Sung-hyun.



IZ*ONE is another group who was born from the Produce series. Quite different from the two previous seasons, this time the program worked together with AKB48 Group from Japan. The group consists of twelve members: Jang Won-young, Miyawaki Sakura, Jo Yu-ri, Choi Ye-na, An Yu-jin, Yabuki Nako, Kwon Eun-bi, Kang Hye-won, Honda Hitomi, Kim Chae-won, Kim Min-ju, and Lee Chae-yeon.

The group’s debut extended play titled Color*Iz was released on October 29th, 2018, with “La Vie en Rose” as its lead single. They also held a debut showcase concert called Color*iz Show-Con which was held in conjunction with the album’s release at the Olympic Hall in Seoul. The first music program they attended was Mnet’s M! Countdown which was aired on November 1st, 2018.

On January 20th, IZ*ONE held their debut show-con in Japan at Tokyo Dome City Hall to promote their first Japanese single titled “Suki to Iwasetai.” From June 7th until June 9th, 2019, IZ*ONE held their first solo concert called Eyes On Me at the Jamsil Indoor Stadium in Seoul.

So, what do you think about these K-Pop groups that were formed after the members appeared on a survival show? Do you prefer K-Pop groups that were formed like this, or do you like K-Pop groups that have been originally formed by an agency? Please don’t forget to kindly share your thoughts about this topic in the comment section below!