List of Idol Survival Shows: ‘Produce 101’, ‘Boys24’, ‘Idol School’, etc.

WIN: Who Is Next?

One of the most popular survival shows was held by YG Entertainment in collaboration with Mnet, titled WIN: Who Is Next? The show aired from August 23rd to October 25th, 2013, for a total of 11 episodes. It’s about two teams of YG trainees who tried their best to impress the judges and Yang Hyun-suk himself to have their debut. Team A consisted of five members and Team B consisted of six members.

They also showed their talents in singing, dancing, as well as song-composing and making choreography by themselves. The winner was determined through fan voting that might be a disadvantage for Team B as Team A had already-known members. As a result, Team A won the competition and achieved the “Winner” title which became their group name. Here are the lists of members of Team A and Team B!

Team A Team B
1 Seungyoon 1 B.I
2 Mino 2 Bobby
3 Seunghoon 3 Jinhwan (Jay)
4 Taehyun 4 Yunhyeong (Song)
5 Jinwoo 5 Donghyuk (DK)
6 Junhoe (Ju-ne)

WINNER debuted on August 17th, 2014, after releasing their first studio album 2014 S/S with the title track “Empty.” They became the fastest group to win in music show through Mnet’s M! Countdown and the title track also achieved “all-kill” in South Korea.

Recently, one of the members of the group, Jinwoo made his solo debut on August 17th, 2019, and released his first solo single album JINU’s HEYDAY with the title track “Call Anytime.”

Mix & Match

YG Entertainment held another survival show in collaboration with Mnet; this time they also collaborated with the fellow company JYP Entertainment. The show aired from September 11th to November 6th, 2014, for a total of 9 episodes. In order to debut as iKON, Team B from WIN and other 3 newly-added trainees (Chanwoo, Hongseok, Jinhyung) were divided into teams of three. B.I, Bobby, and Jinhwan who were fixed to debut as iKON became the leaders of the groups, while the remaining Team B had to compete with the newly-added ones.

After conducting fan-voting, it was announced that the final members to debut were Junhoe, Yunhyeong, Chanwoo, and Donghyuk. Here are the contestants of the show!

Name Outcome
1 B.I Fixed member
2 Bobby
3 Jinhwan (Jay)
4 Junhoe (Ju-ne) Final member
5 Yunhyeong (Song)
6 Chanwoo (Chan)
7 Donghyuk (DK)
8 Hongseok Eliminated
9 Jinhyung

iKON officially debuted on September 15th, 2015, and released their first album Welcome Back with 6 of 12 tracks being the title tracks which were also divided into two parts: Debut Half Album (October 1st) and Debut Full Album (November 2nd). They debuted with their pre-single “My Type” where its music video hit 1.7 million views in 24 hours.

Recently, a piece of heartbreaking news came from leader B.I who announced his departure from the group due to his involvement in a controversy regarding an attempt to purchase marijuana and LSD through leaked KaKao messages in 2016 from Dispatch. Thus, his contract with YG Entertainment was also terminated soon after and iKON continues as a 6-member band.


Not only YG, but Starship Entertainment also made their own survival show titled No.Mercy, through Mnet. It was focused more on individual skills like singing and dancing. The show aired from December 10th, 2014 to February 11th, 2015, for 10 episodes. There were 12 trainees at first before adding another one (I.M) in the middle of the show. The trainees were ranked from 1st (best) to 12th (worst) and the worst ones would be eliminated. The eliminated ones would not only leave the show but the dorm as well.

The mentors included many artists like K.Will, Sistar’s Hyolyn and Soyou, Mad Clown, San E, Junggigo, Wheesung, Giriboy, Jooyoung, and more. The final top 7 would have their chance to debut in a group which was later named Monsta X. Here are the contestants with the final rankings in the show!

Rank Name Outcome
1 Jooheon Winner
2 Shownu
3 Kihyun
4 Hyungwon
5 Wonho
6 I.M
7 Minhyuk
8 #Gun Eliminated
9 Seokwon
10 Yoonho
11 Minkyun
12 Yoosu
13 Kwangji

Monsta X officially debuted on May 14th, 2015, and released their first EP Trespass including its same-name title track. Jooheon, I.M, Kihyun, and Wonho contributed to producing, composing, and lyrics making.

On September 20th, 2019, they dropped another English single “Love U” and Will.I.Am’s remix version of “Who Do U Love?” featuring French Montana whose original version had been released in June. Monsta X is currently preparing for their comeback in October.


JYP Entertainment with Mnet also created a girl group survival show titled Sixteen where their 16 selected trainees would compete against each other in order to debut in a group called TWICE. The show aired from May 5th until July 7th, 2015, for 10 episodes.

They were divided into two groups: Majors (who got the luxurious treatment as they were included in the debut line-up) and Minors (who got a less pleasing treatment). The members of both groups could be changed after undergoing some missions. The missions included singing, dancing, and photoshoots. The winners were determined through fan-votings and the performances. Seven members became the winners of the show and had the chance to debut. Here is the list of the contestants!

Rank Name Outcome
1 Tzuyu* Eliminated
2 Nayeon Winner
3 Jeongyeon
4 Mina
5 Dahyun
6 Sana
7 Chaeyoung
8 Jihyo
9 Somi Eliminated
10 Chaeryeong
11 Minyoung
12 Natty
13 Jiwon
14 Momo*
15 Eunsuh
16 Chaeyeon

*became the added members in the final despite being eliminated which received a lot of criticisms

In the final, after announcing the winners, JYP CEO announced that TWICE would be a 9-member girl group, thus adding another two members from the eliminated ones. He further explained through an official statement that Tzuyu was added due to her popularity in fan-voting while Momo was added due to her unique dancing skills and performance which caught JYP CEO’s attention.

TWICE made their debut on October 7th, 2015, and released their first EP The Story Begins with the title track “Like Ooh-Ahh” whose music video gained so much attention that it hit 50 million views on YouTube within only five months, becoming one of the most viewed debut music videos of a K-Pop group.

Recently, TWICE released their eighth EP Feel Special with its same-name title track on September 23rd, 2019.