Find Out More About K-pop’s ‘Big Three’ Companies

JYP Entertainment


Another of the biggest agencies that houses South Korean artists is JYP Entertainment. This agency was founded by musician and producer Park Jin-young in 1997. Some famous artists were born from the cold hands of Park Jin-young through his agency, such as the boy-group 2PM, 2 AM, GOT7, soloist Baek A-yeon, Miss A, TWICE, Stray Kids, and the latest girl-group, ITZY.

Compared to SM Entertainment and YG Entertainment, JYP Entertainment’s owner, Park Jin-young, is said to have the most emotional closeness with his foster children. Evidently, even though some artists have left the agency, such as Sunmi, Jay Park, and 2 PM, they reportedly still have a good relationship with Park Jin-young.

After more than 20 years of existence, JYP Entertainment continues to tread its success. In 2017, JYP Entertainment recorded a successful profit of up to Rp 1.35 trillion.

Wonder Girls


Wonder Girls is a girl-group from JYP Entertainment that was formed in 2007. Wonder Girls were first introduced through the television program MTV Wonder Girls. The program featured profiles and characteristics of each member, namely Sunye, Sumni, Hyunah, Sohee, and Yeeun. Wonder Girls officially debuted in early 2007 and released their first single, titled Irony, and debuted on MBC’s Music Core. After being quite successful with its debut, this group experienced problems with its members. Among them were Ahn So-hee, who developed a muscle injury, and Hyuna (a former member of 4Minute) had to leave because of her physical health problems. To replace Hyuna, JYP Entertainment chose Kim Yoo-bin as her successor, and she debuted with the other members in their second single, This Fool.

This girl-group reached the peak of its popularity when releasing the first mini album, “The Wonders Years – Trilogy” on September 30, 2008. The mini album contains nine songs, and Nobody is the main single. With the song Nobody, the Wonder Girls won many awards such as “Song of the Year”, “Best Music Video,” and “Best Female Group” at the Mnet KM Music Festival Awrads in 2008. They also won the Golden Disk Awards Artists of the Year and many others.

On January 22, 2010, JYP Entertainment announced that Sumni was focused on her music career and her academics. Not long after, JYP Entertainment chose Hyelim to replace the position vacated by Sunmi. Hyelim is a trainee from JYP who at that time was going to be debuted by girl-group Miss A. In 2013, Sohee announced that she was leaving the group because she wanted to focus on her acting career, and signed a contract with BH Entertainment. After that, the Wonder Girls went on hiatus and had not disbanded. On June 24, 2015, JYP Entertainment said that Sunmi returned to the group after deciding to leave in 2010. Wonder Girls returned with four members and were now conceptualized as a band: Yubin (Drums), Yeeun (Keyboard), Hyelim (Guitar) and Sunmi (Bass).



2PM is a South Korean boy-group formed by JYP Entertainment. On September 4, 2008, 2PM officially debuted with the song 10 Jeom Manjome 10 Jeom, with 7sevenmembers, namely Jay Park (Jaebeom), Jun.K, Nichkhun, Taecyeon, Wooyoung, Junho, and Chansung. 2PM’s first full album, titled 1:59 PM, was released on November 14, 2009, with track leader Heartbeat. However, in this comeback, the leader Jaebeom did not participate because of the controversy about his comments on the internet regarding Korea. In February 2010, JYP said that Jaebeom would not return to 2PM because Jaebeom’s contract with JYP was permanently terminated, and 2PM would continue with six members.

Successful in Korea, their popularity also spread to a neighboring country, Japan. 2PM officially debuted in Japan in May 2011 with the single Take Off. In 2018, Taecyeon made shocking news for 2PM’s fans. Taecyeon officially left JYP Entertainment, the agency that had raised his name. He signed a contract with a new agency, 51K. Even though Taecyeon was no longer a member of JYP Entertainment, 51K would make sure he was still a member of 2PM. 51K would do their best to work together with JYP Entertainment to ensure that Taecyeon is still part of 2PM. JYP Entertainment also confirmed that Taecyeon would continue to be a part of 2PM, even after his departure from the agency.



GOT7 (갓 세븐) is a seven-member boy-group formed by JYP Entertainment. This group consists of JB, Mark, Jackson, Jin Young (Jr.), Youngjae, Bambam, and Yugyeom. Previously, JB and Jin Young (Jr.) first debuted in 2012 under the name “JJ Project”. GOT7 officially debuted on January 16, 2014, on Mnet M! Countdown with the debut song Girls Girls Girls from their first mini album, Got It.

Successful in South Korea since their debut in early 2014, JYP Entertainment brought GOT7 to Japan. They were ready to follow in the footsteps of their senior, 2PM’s, success in the Land of Sakura at the end of 2014. Their Japanese debut album was titled AROUND THE WORLD, and was released on October 22, 2014. The mainstay of the Japanese debut song GOT7 is the same as the album. The song Around the World was composed by 2PM member, Jun.K. In addition, there is also a song called So Lucky in this album.



TWICE (트 와이스) is a girl-group from JYP Entertainment that was formed from a survival program called SIXTEEN, which aired on MNET. After starting airing on May 5, finally, on July 7, JYP announced the nine members who would be forming TWICE. Those members were Jihyo, Nayeon, Chaeyoung, Jungyeon, Mina, Sana, Dahyun, Tzuyu, and Momo.

Twice finally officially debuted on October 20, 2015 with their first mini album, titled The Story Begins, with the track leader Like OOH-AHH. In February 2017, Twice confirmed that they would be debuting in Japan on June 28, 2017. Their hit songs, such as Like Ohh-Ahh, Cheer Up, and TT would be included in their debut album in Japan.

In July 2019, JYP Entertainment said that Mina would be going on hiatus due to anxiety disorder health problems.