All About Happy Face Entertainment: Home to Girl-Group Dalshabet and Dreamcatcher

joowon lee ceo of happy face ent

Happy Face, Happy Place

Happy Face Entertainment is one of the entertainment agencies in South Korea, which is home to the girl-groups Dalshabet and Dreamcatcher, the boy-group HNB, and many other artists. The CEO is Joowon Lee. Some of you may unaware of this entertainment name, so, we’re here to give you the details about Happy Face Entertainment. Make sure you read it until the last page!

Dreamcatcher Company Establishment

happy face ent

Dreamcatcher Company is one of the entertainment labels in South Korean which was established in 2008 by producer E-Tribe’s Ahn Myung-won and Kim Young-deuk. The Dreamcatcher Company then established an entertainment agency, namely, Harvest Entertainment, on August 15, 2008. The agency debuted their first artist, Nassun, through Lee Hyo-ri’s 2008 smash hit U-Go-Girl, which was produced by E-Tribe. This single launched E-Tribe, Nassun, and the agency into mainstream popularity.

5 months later, they changed their name to Happy Face Entertainment on January 23, 2009. On January 5, 2009, Girls’ Generation released the single Gee, which was produced by E-Tribe. The single experienced enormous success, it even took the number one spot on South Korea’s Gaon Chart for two straight months and claimed more than ten year-end awards. A Japanese version of the song was released in 2010, with composition credits still belonging to E-Tribe.

The rap-pop duo One Two (previously established in 2003) signed a contract with Happy Face Entertainment in early 2009. The duo released Starry Night, Bad Girl (ft. Seo In-young), Walala Lalale, and Very Good before their disbandment in late 2010.

The agency also briefly worked with HybRefine and Sanchez, now known as Phantom, in 2010 to produce the singles You Can Fly, Cosmic Dance, Rain U, and Sanchez-San Toi.

Happy Face Entertainment’s Artists

website happy face ent

No discussion about this agency would feel complete without talking about the artists. Here are a few details about Happy Face Entertainment’s artists.



Dalshabet was created and debuted by E-Tribe under Happy Face Entertainment (which was still the Dreamcatcher Company at the time). The group debuted on January 3, 2011, with the mini album Supa Dupa Diva and consisted of six members: Viki, Serri, Ah Young, Jiyul, Kaeun, and Subin.

Unfortunately, Viki officially left in May, 2012, and was replaced by Woohee. Meanwhile, Jiyul and Kaeun left in December, 2015. Woohee left the group in December, 2018, after the discontinuation of her contract.

Since their debut, Dal Shabet has released one studio album and ten extended plays. Their singles Supa Dupa Diva, Pink Rocket, Bling Bling, Hit U, Mr. Bang Bang, Be Ambitious (Look At My Legs), B.B.B (Big Baby Baby) and Joker have all charted in the top twenty on the Gaon Digital Chart.



Dreamcatcher was formerly known as MINX. This group has seven members, they are JiU, SuA, Siyeon, Handong, Yoohyeon, Dami and Gahyeon. They officially debuted on January 13, 2017, with the single album Nightmare.

When Dreamcatcher was still under the name MINX, they only had five members: JiU, SuA, Siyeon, Yoohyeon, and Dami. They released their debut single Why Did You Come to My Home? on September 18, 2014.

In December of the same year, they released the holiday single, Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree, with girl group Dalshabet, their older ‘sisters’. They made a comeback in July, 2015, with the EP Love Shake, which was to be their last release as MINX. In November, 2016, they announced that they were to re-debut in 2017 under the new name Dreamcatcher, with the addition of two new members.



HNB is an acronym for the H Next Boys. The “H” stands for Happy Face Entertainment. This boy-group debuted on June 26, 2017, with the single, I’m Your Light. The group consists of five members: Woo Jin-young, Park Woo-dam, Jung Yoo-jun, Kim Hyun-soo, Jo Yong-geun.

The group formerly had six members, they are Jeong Won-cheol, Yoon Jae-hee, Kim Jun-hyeong, Won Hyun-sik, Kim Jung-woo, and Namekawa Kosuke. Other singles the group released are Falling In Love and You Are So Beautiful.