From FIESTAR to GWSN, List of Girl Groups We Wish Got More Public Recognition


SONAMOO is a girl group formed by TS Entertainment in 2014 with members Sumin, Minjae, D.ana, Nahyun, Euijin, High.D, and NewSun. Sonamoo made their official debut with the extended play, Deja Vu. Many thought that SONAMOO was still part of MAMAMOO due to the similarity of their group name, but SONAMOO was actually losing popularity to MAMAMOO. Until now, SONAMOO is still on hiatus.


WEKI MEKI is a girl group formed by Fantagio in 2017. The group consists of eight members: Ji Soo-yeon, Elly, Choi Yoo-jung, Kim Do-yeon, Sei, Lua, Rina, and Lucy. WEKI MEKI was popular with their debut song “I Don’t Like Your Girlfriend.” However, after that, WEKI MEKI was not very popular. The group released their second single album Lock End LOL on May 14th, 2019, including the lead single “Picky Picky.”


D.Holic is a girl group that debuted in 2014 under Star Road Entertainment and debuted with five members: Nine, Danbee, Duri, Hanmi, and Rena. Then, in August 2015, Nine decided to leave the group and was replaced by Hwajung. Then, in July 2016, Danbee and Duri decided to leave the group, and new member, EJ was introduced. Then in February 2017, Hami and Hwajung departed from the group. They were replaced with new members, Nayoung and Youjin, although they never officially made their debut. In July 2017, it was announced that EJ left the group and D. Holic disbanded. D.Holic debuted with the release of the mini-album Chewy.


GWSN is a girl group that debuted in 2018 and was formed by Kiwi Pop. GWSN debuted on September 5th, 2018, with the title track “Puzzle Moon” with members Miya, Seokyoung, Seoryoung, Anne, Minju, Soso, and Lena. However, since its debut, GWSN has not been noticed by many people so its popularity is low.


FAVORITE is a girl group that debuted in 2017 under Astory Entertainment. They debuted on July 5th, 2017, with My Favorite. FAVORITE made their first comeback on May 9th, 2018, with Love Loves to Love Love. FAVORITE made their second comeback on January 15th, 2019, with Loca. FAVORITE members are Saebom, Seoyeon, Gaeul, Sungyeon, Jeonghee, and Ahra. However, their popularity is indeed very low and the group is less and less noticed by the public.


BVNDIT is a girl group that debuted in 2019 under MNH Entertainment. However, since BVNDIT’s debut, the group has not been widely known to the public. They debuted with the EP BVNDIT, Be Ambitious! BVNDIT consists of five members: Yiyeon, Jungwoo, Songhee, Simyeong, and Seungeun.


Cherry Bullet is a girl group formed by FNC Entertainment in 2019. They debuted on January 21st, 2019, with their debut single album Let’s Play Cherry Bullet and the members are Haeyoon, Yuju, Mirae, Bora, Jiwon, Kokoro, Remi, Chaerin, Linlin, May. Cherry Bullet is still a new girl group and they deserve to get public attention.


5Dolls is a girl group that debuted in 2011 and was formed by Core Contens Media. The group was composed of six members: Hyoyoung, Seunghee, Yeonkyung, Hyewon, Eunkyo, and Nayeon. They debuted with two single tracks, one of which as “Lip Stains.” Unfortunately, 5Dolls was disbanded on March 10th, 2015. It was stated that those members who still had a contract with the agency would be part of a new group.