From FIESTAR to GWSN, List of Girl Groups We Wish Got More Public Recognition


Dream Catcher is a girl group formed by Dreamcatcher Company in 2014. The seven members of the group are JiU, SuA, Siyeon, Handong, Yoohyeon, Dami, and Gahyeon. Dreamcatcher was originally formed under the name MINX, consisting of five members, JiU, SuA, Siyeon, Yoohyeon, and Dami. They released their debut single “Why Did You Come to My Home?” on September 18th, 2014. In November 2016, it was announced that they were to re-debut in 2017 under the new name Dreamcatcher with the new two members.

Initially, Dream Catcher did not get much public attention, but since releasing the song “You & I,” Dream Catcher received a lot of attention from the public because of its unique song and choreography. In February 2019, Dream Catcher released their fourth EP, The End of Nightmare. As with the title, the album heralds the end of the “Nightmare” concept. This overarching theme the group has been promoting in their past title songs since their debut single “Chase Me, PIRI,” a song showcasing Dream Catcher’s signature rock acoustics and incorporation of music from its namesake musical instrument.


BESTie is a girl group formed by YNB Entertainment and debuted in 2013. They released their first single, “Pitapat,” in July 2013. The group was composed of four members: Hyeyeon, Uji, Dahye, and Haeryung. BESTie didn’t get much attention from the public, but they tried hard to increase their popularity. On February 28th, 2014, they released the song “Thank You Very Much” along with an accompanying music video.

On September 5th, 2017, YNB Entertainment announced that Uji and Dahye would be leaving BESTie while Hyeyeon and Haeryung would be continuing as a group, with the possibility that new members would be added. After that it was no longer possible to access YNB Entertainment’s official website; rumors about the company’s bankruptcy started circulating online. In September 2018 Star Entertainment opened an official Instagram account, as well as Facebook, for their new artist Kang Hyeyeon, which concluded the fans’ suspicions about the group’s disbandment without any official statements from YNB Entertainment.


Berry Good is a girl group that debuted in 2014 and was formed by Asia Bridge Entertainment. The current line-up of the group consists of Johyun, Seoyul, Daye, Sehyung, and Gowoon. They released their debut single “Love Letter” in May 2014. In January 2015, Asia Bridge Entertainment stated that Subin, Iera, and Nayeon left the group to concentrate on their studies, and introduced new member Seoyul followed by Daye and Sehyung.

In March 2016, Berry Good launched a crowdfunding EP to produce their first campaign on Makestar. The 10 million won goal was reached in good days and after that Berry also added a sixth member, Johyun. And in April 2018, Taeha, Sehyung, and Gowoon debuted in the group’s first subunit, Berry Good Heart Heart and released “Crazy, Gone Crazy.” However, after that, it was announced that Taeha’s contract has expired and she will no longer be a part of the group. Berry Good, therefore, discontinued the album’s promotional activities. After Taeha’s decision, Berry Good has not carried out any promotional activities and is still on hiatus, even though Berry Good had a concept that could bring Berry Good’s name more popular.


LABOUM is a girl group that debuted in 2014 under NH Media and Nega Network’s Global H Media joint venture. The meaning of their name is taken from the French term meaning “The Party.” Laboum released their debut single album Petit Macaron on August 28th, 2014, following the release of the music video for title track “Pit-A-Pat” the day before. Since their debut, LABOUM has indeed received less and less attention from the public.

In August 2015, LABOUM made a comeback with the release of the song “Sugar Sugar.” The following year, in August 2016 LABOUM made a comeback with the mini-album Love Sign. Unfortunately, in November 2017 NH Media confirmed the departure of Yulhee from the group and terminated her contract. Then in 2018, LABOUM continued its promotion and comeback period with the track “Turn It On.”


Ladies Code is a girl group formed by Polaris Entertainment in 2013. Ladies Code’s original line-up consists of leader Ashley and members Rise, EunB, Sojung, and Zuny. They made their debut with the mini-album Code #01 and the lead track “Bad Girl,” which were released on March 7th, 2013. However, in 2014 the group was involved in a car crash that resulted in the deaths of EunB and RiSe. Ladies Code immediately became the talk of many people after the accident that killed two members of Ladies Code. They struggled to increase the popularity of Ladies Code, but their careers had to stop.

Then, in 2016 Ashley, Sojung, and Zuny made a comeback with the release of the song “I’m Fine, Thank You” to commemorate Rise and EunB. The album named Myst3ry with its title track “Galaxy” was released on February 24th, 2016. In May 2019, Ladies Code released a single titled “Feedback.” Even though without Rise and EunB, the three Ladies Code members remained passionate about increasing the popularity of their group.


STELLAR is a girl group with a very sexy concept that debuted in 2011 under The Entertainment Pascal. STELLAR members were Minhee, Hyoeun, Soyoung, and Youngheun. Initially, their debut was fairly unsuccessful with Rocket Girls. The group began working with production, the MonoTree team in July 2013 and released “Study,” with which they experienced the first success of their first single to chart in the top 100 of the Gaon Digital Chart.

On February 12th, 2014, STELLAR released their first extended play Marionette. STELLAR was much sought after for getting a lot of criticism for their 19+ music video and performances of “Marionette.” Despite the controversy, “Marionette” became their best selling single, peaking at number 35 and 34 on the Gaon and Billboard K-Pop Hot 100 charts, respectively. Then in 2015, STELLAR made a comeback with the release of the song “Vibrato.” Unfortunately, in 2018 STELLAR was declared disbanded. All STELLAR members did not renew the contract with The Entertainment Pascal and they decided to disband.


ELRIS is a new girl group that debuted in 2017 under Hunus Entertainment. The group consists of five members: Sohee, Yukyung, Bella, Hyeseong, and Karin. They debuted on June 1st, 2017, with their first extended play, We, First. Unfortunately, not many people knew about ELRIS on their debut. On June 6th, 2018, Hunus Entertainment confirmed that ELRIS would be coming back on June 28th with their third mini-album titled Summer Dream. On June 28th, their third mini-album was released.


Hash Tag is a girl group that debuted in 2017 and was formed by Luk Factory and produced by Kan Mi-youn. The group debuted on October 11th, 2017, with The girl next door. The group started promotions of the album through a showcase on October 10th, then made their broadcast debut in October 2017 through Music Bank. Unfortunately, they did not pay much attention to the public so their popularity was low. In 2019, Hash Tag made their most recent comeback on April 16th, 2019, with their 2nd mini-album #Aeji #paSsion.


Busters is a girl group that debuted in 2017 formed by Monstergram Inc. and JTG Entertainment. The group consists of members: Minji, Hyungseo, Jisoo, Chaeyeon, and Yeseo. Busters debuted with the release of the single “Dream On” in November 2017. However, not many people were interested in Busters so their popularity was very low. On January 26th, 2019, it was announced through Monstergram’s official YouTube account that Minjung had left the group at the end of the month.