4Minute Debut: Date, Album, Stage, and Pre-debut


General Information About K-Pop Group 4Minute

4Minute is a group that debuted in 2009 with five members named Jihyun, Gayoon, Soohyun, Jiyoon, and Hyuna. They debuted with Hot Issue on M! Countdown. Many achievements have been earned by 4Minute over their seven-year career under Cube Entertainment.

However, 4Minute had to disband in June 2016, and only Hyuna is extending her contract with Cube Entertainment while the other four members decided not to renew their contracts with Cube Entertainment. Let’s see 4Minute’s journey from debut to now.

4Minute’s Official Debut Date


4Minute’s first debut was on June 15th, 2009, with Hot Issue on M! Countdown.

Cube Entertainment announced in May 2009 that they were going to release a new girl group. Nam Jihyun and Kim Hyuna were members of Wonder Girls. On June 11, they released their online teaser silhouettes along with their official website. The remaining three members were not released until June 12.

On June 10, Cube released a teaser for the first single Hot Issue and later released the full music video on June 18, 2009. The group promoted the song from its release until August. At the end of August, they released a mini-album called “For Muzik” and promoted Muzik, which served as their second single. They won a Mutizen Award and an Mnet Award for Muzik shortly after they released their third single called What a Girl Wants.

On June 21, a week after the start of the “Hot Issue” promotions, fans stole various items from the van, including clothing. In response, Cube Entertainment stated, “It was very unfortunate that such an ordeal occurred.” KBS banned the playing of Will Not Give You because the lyrics were considered to be overly sexual content. In response, Cube stated that the lyrics were intended to be “about the pure feelings of a girl to a guy”, and they were disappointed that the lyrics were interpreted as something sexual. 4Minute was featured in fellow label-mate Mario’s Christmas digital single Jingle Jingle, which was released on December 2, 2009; the music video premiered online on December 3, 2009. They also recorded a remix with American artist Amerie for her song Heard Em All that was released on the Asian version of her fourth album.

4Minute’s Debut Album


4Minute officially debuted with their first mini-album in 2009. The mini-album is “For Muzik”.

Songs contained on the mini-album For Muzik are:
01. For Muzik (Intro)
02. Muzik
03. Hot Issue
04. What a Girl Wants
05. Will Not Give You
06. Hot Issue (Remix)

4Minute’s Debut Stage


On debut, 4Minute managed to steal the attention of netizens. They were able to demonstrate their singing and dancing abilities with unique moves and concepts. Even at their first debut, 4Minute gained a lot of fans.